Recipes

Winter Brussels Sprout Quinoa Salad

Last night I was craving a hearty winter salad to go with the tomato soup my boyfriend, Jay, cooked the previous night.  I went to Whole Foods to see what looked tasty and fresh.  I spotted a bag of Brussels sprouts and immediately decided I wanted to try a shaved Brussels sprout salad.  I had quinoa at home that I knew I would add to the salad for some heartiness and protein.  I also picked up an avocado, a tomato and some goat cheese (yum!)Brussels Sprout Salad.

I have never made shaved Brussels sprouts but it was quite easy.  To make the shaved Brussels sprouts:

  1. Rinse the Brussels sprouts
  2. Slice off the woody stems
  3. Tear of the outer leaves that may be bruised and toss them
  4. Cut the Brussels sprouts in half down the center (top to bottom)
  5. Shred them! Turn the sprouts cut-side down, and shred them by thinly slicing them cross-wise from root to top.

I added cooked red quinoa, diced tomato, sliced avocado and sprinkled some goat cheese on top.

To dress the salad, I tossed with lemon pepper, garlic salt, red wine vinegar and olive oil.

This was such an easy salad to make and so delicious for a cold night especially when you have a cup of tomato soup to pair it with!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

